"Inspiring All to Achieve"

"St Mary's Matters" Newsletter Issue 5

From our Head of School

Dear Parents/Carers

Firstly, may I take this opportunity to wish you all a Happy New Year! 

As we are now in the second term of the academic year, and the children have settled into their classes, I would ask parents not to come into the classrooms in the mornings.  This will enable the children to settle into their morning activities more quickly.  From Monday, a bell will be rung on the playground to give one minute’s warning that the gate is closing.  Please leave quickly once this bell has been rung.

Beechwood Hall Hotel have advised that their fence is being broken by people climbing over it.  The hotel is happy for their car park to be used, but please walk to the school via Richmond Road and the park.

Please check our website, which has been revamped, for copies of letters, homework and other information.  We shall continue to be grateful for any feedback from website users.

Feedback on the website, in addition to any other comments/suggestions, can be provided using the new email address: parentsconnect@stmarysworthing.org.uk. Emails sent to this email address will be brought to Parent Forum meetings for consideration/action.

Parents requested more information on how Phonics, Spelling and Maths are taught and how the children can be supported at home.  Workshops are taking place during January and February; please sign up to these.  We plan to provide further workshops later in the year.

An update on progress since the Parent Meetings in October will be provided next week.

Yours sincerely

Mrs L Hardy

 

Let's Celebrate!

EYFS enjoyed a visit from a vet and some  guinea pigs, to learn about people in the community who help us.

Year 1/2  have had an exciting visit from the Fire Service to help them learn about how the fire service has changed over the years.

Year 3/4 welcomed the Mayor of Worthing and Town Crier to the school.  They took part in a question and answer session to find out more about Worthing.

Year 5/6 were lucky enough to be invited to a free concert given by Worthing Symphony Orchestra at the Assembly Hall.  The children  were so inspired and enthused by the performance that they barely noticed the rain on the walk back to school!

Term Dates 2016-17

Spring Term 2017 : *Wednesday 4th January - Friday 7th April

Half Term Break: Monday 20th February - Friday 24th February

Inset Day:  *Tuesday 3rd January

Summer Term 2017 : Monday 24th April - *Friday 21st July

Half Term Break:  Monday 29th May - Friday 2nd June

Inset Days: Friday 30th June, *Monday 24th July, *Tuesday 25th July

Upcoming Events

◊ Year 1/2 Rainbow Theatre “London’s Burning” : Tuesday 17th January

◊ Deanery Children’s Council : Thursday 19th January

◊ Maths Workshop for Parents : Monday 23rd January, 5:30 p.m.

◊ Yr 3/4 to Worthing Museum : Thursday 26th January (Keats & Shelley)

◊ Yr 3/4 to Worthing Museum : Friday 27th January (Byron Class)

◊ Workshops for Parents : 30th & 31st January and 2nd February, 

Phonics: 9:00 a.m. / Spelling: 2:00 p.m.